My Musings – 4: IF I AM GOD, THEN I MUST BE OMNISCIENT, OMNIPOTENT AND OMNIPRESENT

By Niraj Bidawatka

Krishna, the Supreme Personality of Godhead being worshiped by Lord Brahma, the demigod who creates the universe.

The Mayavadis say that everyone is God. But this is a faulty theory.

If I am God, then I should be omnipresent, omniscient and omnipotent, which are the inherent qualities of God. I should be able to deduce the thoughts, which are going on in your mind. I should be able to remain in my office as well as in my home at the same time. But, when I’m in my office, l cannot remain simultaneously at my home. So how can I be God? Thus, I’m neither omnipresent nor omniscient. I’m also not omnipotent, which is another quality of God. I am always fearful that some strong person may come and attack me.

When I bring this to the notice of the Mayavadis, they propose that if I meditate, then I shall acquire all these qualities and then I’ll become God.

But I have heard from Srila Prabhupada, that God is always God. He never becomes God. When Krishna was barely a newborn baby, He killed Putana, the gigantic demoness. So, God never becomes God by meditation. He is always God. Hence, I reject their theory that we can become God by meditation.

His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada with His Disciples

Now, the Mayavadis put forward another fallacious theory. They say that everyone is God but due to the influence of Maya we are unable to realize that we are all Gods. They say that the deluding energy called maya has covered us; therefore, we are forgetful of the fact that we are God. But Prabhupada says that if maya were to influence and cover God, then maya is stronger than God. By this logic maya should be considered as the real God. But the Bhagavad Gita categorically states that maya is under the control of Krishna, the Supreme Personality of Godhead. Therefore, there is no sound basis to this Mayavadi reasoning either.

Thus, I am firmly convinced that, “I am not God.” Therefore, I do not ascribe to the false Mayavada theory, which says that everyone is God. There is only one God and He is Shri Krishna, says the Bhagavad-Gita (10.12-13). Even Lord Brahma confirms that Krishna, or Govinda is the Supreme Personality of Godhead, the primeval person. govindam ādi puruśam tam aham bhajāmi.

These Mayavadis are big sharks whereas I am a small fish. But, thanks to the mercy of my Great Spiritual Master, His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, these big Mayavadi sharks could not capture me with their fallacious and false theories. All glories to Srila Prabhupada.

 

Leave a Reply

