If chanting Krishna and OM is one and the same, then why not chant Krishna?

By His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedānta Swami Prabhupāda

His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada

Guest (4): Will the Swami give another service in the Arlington Street Church any time in the future?

Prabhupāda: Arlington?

Jadurāni: Are you going to be there again, he wants to know.

Prabhupāda: Arlington Church? Yes, I was there.

Guest (4): Will you be there again some time in the future?

Prabhupāda: That, if you arrange, I can go. I am at your service. I have dedicated my life for this. Whenever you call me, whenever you invite me, I can go anywhere. Why Arlington Church? I can go to any place. Because it is my duty to give you, to deliver you this message of Srimad-Bhagavatam and Bhagavad-gita. That is my duty.

Guest (5): Swami, what is ‘Om’?

Prabhupāda: Om is the concentrated name of God.

Guest (5): Can one say Om instead of “Krishna” and gain the same benefit?

Prabhupāda: Yes. But why instead of Krishna? If Om and Krishna is the same, why not Krishna? Why stick to Om? Om is formless but Krishna has got beautiful form, enjoying. And we are addicted to beautiful form. Why something which is not beautiful? Krishna says in the Bhagavad-gita, “Amongst the alphabets I am omkāra.” So Krishna says that “I am omkāra.” So in one sense omkāra and Krishna the same. But I can see that Krishna is very beautiful and so many things, but I do not see in omkāra that thing. Therefore my preference should be to Krishna. Why shall I stick to Om?

[An excerpt from the Q&A session of a lecture delivered on the Srimad Bhagavatam 5.5.3 in Boston on May 4, 1968]

Also Read

OM versus HARE KRISHNA – Which is Better?

“OM” IS THE IMPERSONAL SOUND FORM OF KRISHNA

Why we Stress so much on the Chanting of Hare Krishna?

Leave a Reply

