How should one surrender to God?

Answer by Niraj Bidawatka

A devotee surrenders to Krishna

A devotee surrenders to Krishna

We should pray to God, “Oh my Lord, I have been trying to be happy independently of you. But I have not attained even an iota of happiness. I have been working so hard since so long and I have amassed so much wealth and I have given the best comforts to my body and senses, but still I am not happy.

“I have tried my best to give the best facilities to my wife, children and family members. But still they are not satisfied and happy. I have tried to give the best comforts to my senses, I have shown the best movies, the best picturesque tourist spots of the world and the most beautiful women to my eyes, I have given the best perfumes and fragrances to my nose, the best cuisine to my tongue, the best music to my ears and the best sex life to my skin.

“I have spent a fortune for gratifying my senses but still they are not satisfied and they consistently pester me to give them more and more comforts. They thus, force me to work harder and harder and the result is that I have ultimately become wretched and frustrated.

“Now I have come to the factual understanding that I cannot become happy by sense enjoyment. Therefore I have come to You for seeking Your fearless shelter. So please accept me and engage me in your service”

This process of surrender has been enunciated by Srila Rupa Goswami in the verse kāmādinām kati na katidhā [CC Madhya 22.16]. One should realize and admit to God that, “I am a sinful person. I have committed innumerable sins in my past life. This sinful life is the cause of my unhappiness. Now I want to be purified of such sins. O Krishna, You say in the Bhagavad Gita, that You cleanse all the sins of a surrendered devotee. So please take me in your shelter and protect me because I am a helpless soul.”

If you sincerely surrender, then Krishna, the Supreme Personality of Godhead, will send His authorized representative to your rescue and such a realized spiritual master will engage you in the service of Krishna.

mercy of guru

In the present age, Krishna has already sent His authorized commander-in-chief (senapati bhakta) in the form of His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada. His Divine Grace has given a very simple regiment for attaining Krishna, which is as follows:

  • Chant 16 rounds of the Hare Krishna mahamantra; and
  • Follow four regulative principles, viz. no meat eating, no intoxication, no illict sex and no gambling.

So accept Srila Prabhupada as your spiritual master, follow his above mentioned rules and regulations and go back home, back to Krishna for enjoying an eternal life full of spiritual bliss. This is how one can surrender to God.

 

 

Leave a Reply

