When the Hundred and Fifty Rupee book proved to be worth a Thousand Rupees

By Niraj Bidawatka

Book_Distribution_02_W

Yesterday, while distributing Prabhupada’s books, one young lady approached me and emphatically told me that she wanted to buy a book of Srila Prabhupada. She asked me to suggest the best book. I suggested three books to her and she chose the “Science of Self Realization”. While making the payment, she reminded me that around five years back she had brought a Bhagavad Gita from me at the very same spot and that she was reading it daily since then. She expressed her deep felt gratitude to me for giving such a nice book as the Bhagavad Gita to her. She said that she had paid One Hundred and Fifty Rupees for that Bhagavad Gita but it turned out to be worth a thousand rupees.

So this is the power of Srila Prabhupada’s books. One who sincerely reads them, will surely appreciate that Prabhupada has given us an invaluable treasure. Many devotees, especially from ISKCON Chowpatty, have questioned me in the past about my methodology of preaching. One devotee even directly and blatantly criticized me on my face that my preaching will have no effect because I simply give a book and then don’t maintain any follow-up.

But in spite of being at the receiving end of such criticisms, I did not change my style as I sincerely believed that Srila Prabhupada will preach through his books. My stand was vindicated yesterday. All glories to Jagadguru Srila Prabhupada, the commander-in-chief of Sri Chaitanya Mahaprabhu’s sankirtan movement.

BookDistribution3

Leave a Reply

